Historical Highlights


     Since the nteUnder Constructionad been visiting longtime Hapeville residents looking for pictures and information that related to local early history.


      On January 15, 1981, an organizational meeting was held with about 75 in attendance. Bylaws were discussed and approved. The following officers were elected: President, Ed Milton; Vice-President, Miriam Hudson; Recording Secretary, Sara Jones; Corresponding Secretary, Mary Hayes; and Treasurer, Wells. A lawyer member, Bob McCord, volunteered to apply for and secure our state incorporation papers. Mrs. Mary Hayes pursued and obtained a non-profit status with gifts “tax deductible” from the Internal Revenue Service.

     In the summer of 1981, the City made available to the Historical Society the west freight room and two offices on the west side of the Depot. In April 1982, the Depot Restoration Committee merged with the Historical Society. The combined energies were now channeled into developing the . Within two years of its formation, the Society boasted of a membership of over 300 and35 corporate members.